Prayer and Fasting

Lately I have been delving into the spiritual disciplines of prayer and fasting.  I don’t mean to say that I have not prayed and fasted in the past.  However, I have a deep sense that I have not these things enough.  Of course my mind initially interjects, “You don’t even know why you are doing these things!  Wait until you have that part figured out.”  I may never know the why and how of prayer and fasting but I am convinced that I am called to practice them.

Recently I have received such peace and even dreams that I believe are the direct result of prayer and fasting.  The other night (before this whole church discipline thing happened) I had a dream that I lived in a beach house.  The neighbors were going crazy tying things down and getting ready for something.  I asked what they were doing and they said they were preparing for the storm that was about to hit.  I looked around at my house and a voice came to me saying, “There is nothing to prepare here.  I have already prepared the house.  Go fishing.”  So I just went fishing and began catching some huge fish.  That morning when I woke up I believe the Holy Spirit impressed upon me this interpretation: Something is about to happen that will feel like a storm.  Do not worry about the storm because you are secure.  Keep on with the mission of loving God, loving each other, and loving others. 

Well, the storm has hit and we are standing firm continuing with the mission.  God continues to speak to our staff revealing what is going on.  I have never experienced anything like this before and really am not sure how to receive it.  I’ve read Acts though so I guess I should have seen it coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

