Just a Matter of the Heart?

So as I’ve been thinking about how to “reach the bottom” (which just means to live as faithful as possible) I find myself turning to Jesus’ words in Matthew 6:21 over and over again.

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

I have always understood wealth and faith in a particular way; namely, money isn’t the problem, it’s one’s attitude toward money.  This answer used to satisfy me.  However, the more I read Jesus’ words the more I am beginning to think that this interpretation misses the boat.  Jesus could have easily said, “For where your heart heart is, there your treasure will be also.”  This would allow me to have untold riches but as long as mye heart is in the right place then my true riches would be there as well.

As it stands, Jesus didn’t say it quite that way.  He said, “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  I’m pretty sure that “treasure” means my wealth, my possession, all those things that I hold dear (maybe even non-material things).  Where these things are, there my heart is.  What I am wondering is what does it look like for a family of 10 (for that is what we are) to live faithfully to these words.  What is my treasure?  Where do I invest or store my treasure?  I believe we must wrestle with these questions and more if we are to be faithful followers of Jesus.

How do you read this verse (or the context in which the verse is found)?

Leave a Reply

