What to Preach, What to Preach?

I have put together two different preaching calendars for the next year and am working on a third and fourth.  When is the madness going to stop!?

I am a planner and I know that I am at my best when I have given the Holy Spirit as much time as possible to work in me and on me.

  • I could follow the lectionary.
  • I could preach through several books of the Bible in expository fashion. (Of course I would alternate between Old Testament, Epistle and Gospel)
  • I could preach through John Wesley’s sermons – one year with the Bible, a hymnal and Wesley’s sermons just like his pastors.
  • I could do a mix of cognitive and affective series; a mix of doctrinal and practical (not that doctrine isn’t practical)
  • I could …

And the list goes on and on.  What am I to do?

Leave a Reply

