Me, Myself and Bob

I have wanted to read this book since it first came out three years ago.  I probably had it in my hands to purchase at least 10 times in the last three years.  Why didn’t I?  I don’t know.  Maybe I thought reading about talking vegetables wasn’t very dignified.  Perhaps God was waiting to use Phil Vischer’s story to encourage me at just the right time.  It worked.

Wow!  I love it.  It’s funny, it’s honest and it’s it real.  I became a fan of VeggieTales in college.  Crystal and I were teaching a class for Awanas and we showed “Where’s God When I’m Scared.”  From the very first moment we witnessed a singing cucumber playing Daniel we were hooked.  Now, we don’t own all of the VeggieTales ever made, but we own most of them!

Lord of the Beans is probably my favorite.  Belly Button and the Cheeseburger Song are the best silly songs.  VeggieTales never disappoint.

I knew that around the time of Jonah things were heading south for Big Ideas, but I had no idea they were as bad as they were.  Phil Vischer’s honest survey of his dream, his faith, and his fall have given me great encouragement.

The “lessons” near the end of the book are worth the price of the book.  While they seem most applicable to the business world at first I have found myself applying them to my ministry context, my family life and even my own life.

What struck me most was Phil’s honest confession about dreams, “beware of your dreams, for dreams make dangerous friends.”  After recovering spiritually from the death of his dream Phil wrote “Sidney and Norman.”  When he met with the publishers to pitch the idea they asked him, “Where do you want to be in 5 years?”  Phil’s answer was, “In the center of God’s will.”  Perhaps our problem isn’t that we dream too big or too little, but that we dream apart from God.  Our dream should be – 5, 10, 20 years form now – to be in the center of God’s will.

Am I in the center of God’s will for my life?

As a note, Phil Vischer’s return to God involved journeying down the road through scripture and prayer, through waiting on God.  May each of us return to God in the same way.

Leave a Reply

