Waiting

Waiting.  Not a natural inclination of mine, but a practice of great value.  I’m learning that God actually is smarter and more capable of planning than I am.  As I have been trying to “figure some things out” here in my ministry context God has spoken and said, “Wait.”  So that is what I intend to do.

As I wait, deadlines are getting closer.  People want answers.  People want permission.  People want me to plan.  That is, after all, what I usually do.  But I must wait lest I find myself being disobedient and not in the center of God’s will.

As I wait, pieces are coming together; pieces that required no energy, no emotional investment and no planning on my part.  Truth be told, the pieces are even better than the ones I would have fashioned.  Perhaps the psalmist had it right when he said, “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.” (Psalm 37:7)

Leave a Reply

