One Year

Hanging in Eureka, Alaska is my brother’s hat.  One year ago today his canoe tipped and at the age of 26 he drowned in the frigid Alaska water.  The chaplain said he inhaled the water (only 38 degrees F) and when it hit his lungs his body immediately went into shock.  He “fell asleep” before he drowned.  I don’t know how he spent his final minutes, I just know they were his last.  On Tuesday we sprinkled his ashes and left his hat behind.  I will always miss my brother.

If you look at the hat you can see some bullet holes.  Kody and Shawn (my youngest brother) were out shooting and they ran out of targets.  So what do they do?  They shoot Kody’s hat full of holes.

3 thoughts on “One Year

  1. Praying for you, George, and each family member. As you reach out comforting and leading so many, may God fill you up and minister to your heart, especially in this time.
    Love you, Brother.
    -Kelly

  2. George, this is the first of your blog articles I have read. I am gripped by this part of your story. I am truly interested in reading more of your thoughts, your heart, your vision…your story. My prayers are with you and your family. Thanks again for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

