Possessions

Their property held them in chains … which shackled their courage and choked their faith … and throttled their souls … They think of themselves as owners, whereas it is they rather who are owned; enslaved  as they are to their own property. – Cyprian, third-century bishop of Carthage

Today I emptied my closet.  Every year I go through and get rid of the things I have accumulated.  I now only use three drawers instead of five and I have half my closet space back.  I think we kid ourselves when we think we own our possessions.  Cyprian was correct when he said, “They think of themselves as owners, whereas it is they rather who are owned.”  Perhaps this why Jesus said, “where your treasure is (your possessions), there your heart is also.”  Where is your treasure?

One thought on “Possessions

  1. Amen to that, George! As we’ve done some massive purging and simplifying in our lives, I realize how distracted my possessions have made me from what my true treasure is. Having things isn’t bad, but have clearly felt the “throttled…soul” being faced with what to keep and how we’re going to live. Thanks for this healthy reminder to focus on our true treasure and not allow ourselves to be choked by earthly things.

Leave a Reply

