Marriage

My New Wedding Ring

“Dearly beloved: We have come together in the presence of God to witness and bless the joining together of this man and this woman in Holy Matrimony …”  And so the ceremony begins.  At least that’s how the ceremony I performed today began.  Four years ago my wedding ring ft.  After several finger injuries due to jiu-jitsu and gaining 20 pounds (… of muscle, of course) my old ring didn’t fit and they couldn’t resize it.  So, we picked out a simple white-gold band.

As I performed the ceremony today I shared these words,

Jesus performed his first miracle at a wedding in Cana of Galilee.  There he turned water into wine.  This miraculous act signifies the transformation that is to take place in the union of husband and wife – what was good and life giving to begin with now becomes deep, rich and abundant.

I’m pleased to have a ring on my finger once again.  A constant reminder that Jesus can take what God has called “good” and make it “very good.”

Leave a Reply

