Praying the Psalms

This month I have been praying the psalms.  Every morning and every evening before I rise and before I sleep I pray the psalms.  For me this is as simple as reading slowly and saying, “Amen!” at the end.  At first it seemed like a weird practice but half way into the month I began to notice that the words of the psalmist were becoming my words, my prayers.  Some of the psalms I could relate to emotionally.  Others brought to mind other people and places.  And so I prayed.

I am now at the end of the month and have discovered something new in praying the psalms.  The psalms remind me that people are indeed “fearfully and wonderfully made.”  Have you ever noticed how the psalmists an go from this, “The Lord is King for ever and ever!” to this, “How long, O Lord?  Will you forget me forever?”  It seems that life has a way of bringing us to our knees and when we are down what else have we but to cry out.

Angry.

Disappointed.

Hurt.

Afraid.

Feelings of injustice.

We cry out.  We cry out against God.  We cry out to God.  We cry against those who represent God.  Often doing all three in the same breath.  Sometimes we cry out in denial.  Denying our pain or our shattered hopes.  We believe that if we deny reality then somehow we will overcome.  However, it is only by embracing reality, ultimate Reality, that we can have victory.  I am learning that God is not afraid of my crying out.  After all, he is the one who can, “Search me out … and know my heart; try me and know my restless thoughts.

With that being said I have some friends who are crushed now by the brokenness of creation.  Please pray for them.  As the psalmist writes, “The Lord is near to the broken hearted and saves the crushed in spirit.”  Amen.

One thought on “Praying the Psalms

Leave a Reply

