The First Night

Last night my dad called and told me that my mom died.  We don’t know how she died just that she went to bed and didn’t get up the next day.  In the few seconds that exist between the world of dreams and the waken world I dreamed that my mom was raised.  I was shocked and not expecting it.  She was so full of joy and a lightness that I don’t recall seeing for over 20 years.  Just as I was about to embrace her I realized that I was dreaming and woke up.  The word that came to mind was this,

I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him. This is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms. – Ephesians 1:19–20 NLT

I have the power to raise the dead, George.  Never forget that.

Now, I don’t imagine that this dream was actually about raising my mother, or any other dead person for that matter.  It was a reminder that God really, truly raised Christ from the dead.  It was a reminder that the same power that was used in raising Christ is available to me, on a daily basis and especially when life is hard.  I am encouraged by this thought because I know that there is no greater power than the power of God to raise the dead and bring life.

Lord, help me to understand his incredible power and to rest in it as a remain in Jesus.  Amen.

One thought on “The First Night

  1. There are no adequate words to express the sympathy, empathy and heart-break we feel for you and the family, George, but I do know that our hearts, thoughts and prayers embrace you, Crystal and the kids most powerfully. We love you all, more than words.

Leave a Reply

