Warning Signs

WarningSigns

“Danger: Keep Out!” “Caution: Wet Floor!” “Dangerous Chemicals!”

Warning signs are there for our protection, if we have the sense to heed their call.  I’ve tried over the last several years to keep an eye on my warning signs.  I look out for those subtle (and sometimes not so subtle) indicators that things aren’t well with my soul.  Here are some warning signs that I’ve noticed in my life and in the lives of others.

  • increased irritability
  • unidentified anxiety
  • increased worry (especially over money)
  • sleeplessness
  • drowsiness
  • lack of production
  • a messy desk
  • a messy car
  • a messy lawn
  • increased temptation (especially in the area of sexuality)
  • skipping out on corporate worship with the body of Christ (one of the most dangerous signs!)
  • skipping out on fellowship with the body of Christ (one of the most dangerous signs!)
  • short tempered (especially toward my children)
  • always in a hurry

I’m sure you have some items you can add to the list.  If left unattended these warning signs will lead to a break in our participation with the body of Christ and with Jesus himself.  I’ve seen it over and over again.

What do we do?  Well, I suggest we listen to the words of Jesus in Revelation 2:5.

So remember the place from which you have fallen.  Repent, and do the works you did at the beginning.  If not – if you don’t repent – I will come and remove your lampstand out of its place.

First, we remember.  We remember what it was like living in the presence of the Lord and in fellowship with the body of Christ.  Second, we repent for allowing our lives to become centered on other things rather than on Jesus.  Third, we begin doing the things we know are good and healthy for us to do: sabbath, silence, solitude, fellowship, scripture reading, singing, praying, fasting, serving, worshipping!

The alternative to a course correction is to be snuffed out.  I don’t want to be snuffed out.  So, if you see any of these warning signs in my life you just let me know.

Leave a Reply

