More Light, More Eggs

I know we humans aren’t supposed lay eggs, but chickens are.  Eggs are the fruit they were designed to produce.  Recently our chickens ceased being fruitful.  We have about 20 hens and so I expected about 20 eggs a day.  We were getting four eggs.  So, after a little research, we put a light in the chicken coop and viola, more eggs.  Who knew it could be that simple.  The chickens simply needed more light in order to produce more fruit.

I reckon it’s the same with us people.  I don’t mean that more light will help us lay more eggs, but it will help us bear more fruit.  Some of the best fruit comes when we fellowship together.  John tells us, “But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.” (1 John 1:7)  Walking in the light, staying in love with Jesus, is the key to more fruit.  Jesus told us,

I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser.  Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit.  Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you.  Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.  I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. (John 15:1-5)

Abiding in the light means more fruit.  Through prayer, searching the scriptures, gathering for worship, partaking in communion, and maybe even fasting we might just be able to lay more eggs.

Leave a Reply

