Pirates on the Farm

Pirates-on-the-Farm-1020x1024written by Denette Fretz and illustrated by Gene Barretta

In a small, rural farming community the last thing anyone expected was for pirates to move in.  These pirates didn’t come to pillage and plunder but to try their hand at farming.  Their unorthodox approach to farming and lack of manners soon lands them in trouble with the townsfolk.  Will Dad be able to change everyone’s minds in time?

As a father of six children living on a 1.5 acre farm it just made sense to pick up this title and share it with the family.  This short, well illustrated, parable on what it means to love one’s neighbor hit the spot.  Since it is a children’s book I thought it only fitting to include the opinions of my children in this review.

My 5 year-old daughter: “The pictures were funny.  I like how they were sword fighting with brooms.  I’m glad the daddy was nice to the pirates.”

My 7 year-old son: “I liked the pictures.  The pirates are funny farmers.  You don’t bury a bag of seeds.  I want to be a pirate farmer.”

My 8 year-old son: “The pictures were pretty good.  The story was good, but it was too short.”

My 10 year-old daughter: “I liked it.”

My 12 year-old daughter: “The story seemed kind of simple, but the art was good.”

My 14 year-old son: “The pictures were average; what you would expect in a quality children’s book.  The story didn’t really capture my attention, even though it had a good point.”

As for mom and dad, we both agree that our kids could use as many fun and fresh versions of loving your neighbors as yourself as they can get.  It is easy in this world to make the wrong assumptions about who our neighbors are and fail to love them.  We thought the family’s and community’s concerns could have been presented in a way that did not make them seem so unloving (especially since they were clearly being portrayed as Christians), but still captured their struggle to love such a rag-tag crew of scurvy pirate farmers.

The end of the book provides a fun glossary (which is my favorite part of the book) and a brief letter to parents meant to guide them as they discuss the royal law.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

