All the Way

Perhaps no call to obedience, aside from the call of Jesus to the cross, is as powerful and as demanding as the call given to Abraham.  It is a call to abandon everything in order to receive an unseen, unnamed promise.

The Lord said to Abram, “Leave your land, your family, and your father’s household for the land that I will show you.  I will make of you a great nation and will bless you. I will make your name respected, and you will be a blessing. (Genesis 12:1-2 CEB)

It’s a threefold call, with each piece of the call taking Abraham deeper into dependence upon God.  First, leave your land.  Not only your land, but your family, your peeps.  Not only your peeps, but your blood relatives.  He’ll receive another call similar to this one later in life, but he’ll be ready to obey it fully then. (Genesis 22:2)  Obedience, it seems, came in stages for Abraham.

Abram left just as the Lord told him …

But wait for it …

and Lot went with him. (Genesis 12:4 CEB)

It seems that Abraham doesn’t really begin experiencing God’s blessings until he and Lot separate; until he fully obeys the Lord.

This got me thinking, “Is there any area in my life where I thought I was fully obeying the Lord, but really I’m only partially there?”  It doesn’t seem to me that Abraham was being disobedient in the same way that Jonah was disobedient, for Scripture says, “Abram left just as the Lord told him …”  I think in my own life I can see this principle at play in the areas of prayer and faith; I’m part way there but I need to go all the way.

What about you?  Where might you be resting in “part way” when your call is to “all the way”? Perhaps the extent to which you love your neighbor is only part way there and you need to go all the way.  Perhaps the way you invest financially into the kingdom of God is only part way there and you need to go all the way there.  Maybe you have only part way committed to using your gifts in the body, and now you need to go all the way.  I don’t know.  God knows and if you’ll let him he’ll tell you.  Be brave.  Be courageous.  Be obedient.  Go all the way!

Leave a Reply

